snakebit1995's Whitelist Application

snakebit1995
MC name: snakebit1995

snakebit1995's Whitelist Application

—Player Questions—
Minecraft Username: snakebit1995
Where did you hear about us: ChaosMarine599
Tell us a little about yourself: I’m a pretty normal college student who has played every Pokémon game and knows a lot about Pokémon. I consider myself a roleplay novice, because I’ve only done a little bit of roleplay, but I do a lot of creative writing, so I’m no stranger to story-building. I also play video games, recently mostly Overwatch.

—Roleplay Questions—

What is roleplaying?
Roleplaying is the process of acting out another character/persona for a scenario

What is meta-gaming?
Using information obtained out of character during in character roleplay.

What is power-gaming?
Power-gaming is strong-arming other players into doing what you want them to do, or making them play the scenario out the way that you wanted to, not allowing them any creative freedom. An example of power-gaming would be saying you pull out a bat and before another player has a chance to react you hit them with it. You controlled the conversation and never gave them a chance to react.

What is retroactive continuity?
Retroactive continuity is going back and rewriting the previous plot points to make them fit whatever is necessary. This is usually frowned upon because it can be seen as another way of power-gaming, but it is useful if a plot point is locking up the story.

What is a Mary Sue?
A Mary Sue is a character that is somewhat generic, usually is liked or tries to be liked by every other character, tends to have 0-1 character flaws to try to make them relatable but is otherwise good at everything, and sometimes has a dark past.

What is the difference between in-character (IC) and out-of-character (OOC)?
In character is through the eyes of your character, out of character is you, the human being, talking about the game or roleplay.